//
you're reading...
Christmas, DIY, finance, Holiday, Home Organization, How-To's, Money, New Years, Organizing, Planning, Tips, Uncategorized

Home Organization Binder Series: Health and Children

Hey, friends. I’m posting back to back to get the premise of the binder series out to you because my goal is to get started using them on New Years Day. To clarify, you can opt to implement these strategies at anytime you feel comfortable. My purpose is to have the tools in place to meet you wherever your journey starts.

The Health/Children binder holds exactly that – information for health and children. If you don’t have children, you can still gain a lot for tracking your health information and maybe even pet information if you have pets or elerly persons in the home.

If you are like me in the past, you may have a junk drawer or a file folder clinging on for dear life full of papers, report cards, prescriptions, mail, etc. When it’s time to find a birth certificate, you’re screwed, right?

You may not like a huge file cabinet in your home or the idea of spending your time filing papers each and every day.  Like me, eventually you burn out. I have tried several methods in the past including file cabinets, scanners and bins to store just about everything. I have even struggled through the junk drawers and countertops piles for a long time. How frustrating is it to think you remember where something is rather than know for certain?

As the finance binder is for balancing money and spending, the health/children binder balances and organizes important documents. It’s a portable, home for the things that come up randomly for use in your daily lives.

The hardest part is starting. Many people I talk to site this as the biggest challenge. They say “Trisha, I never have time”. My response is usually a challth2enge. How much time does it take you to replace a birth certificate, Social Security card or passport… Too long. It takes you around 20 minutes to construct these binders and minutes to use daily.

I have images under my previous Binder Series post of the binder I am using for 2013. It’s decorative and blue, but you do not need to go there, lol. Here’s what you will need:

1. At least a 1″ 3 ring binder with pockets
2. Deep Pocket dividers, 3 holed ( about 4 – 6)
3. 3 hole punch (or a pack 3 holed copy paper)
4. Zippered insert, 3 holed (2-3)
5. Ruled sticky note, for note taking
*Optional business card holder insert, 3 ring*

All of these items can be bought at just about any drugstore or craft store. I chose the Martha Stewart by Avery line because I love the ocean blue colors. These can be found at places like Quill and Office Depot.

I hope you are considering this series. It will help.
Using this method, your life will start to fall into order and away from the chaotic clutter of the past. This is a great way to begin. As time goes on and we enter into more advanced organizing techniques, I would love to have you up to speed and motivated to get deeper in.

Don’t forget to enter in the giveaway which I will repost separately to highlight the rules again. I love this binder and I really do wish to send one to one of you to help jumpstart your organizational goals in the new year.

As always, thank you for reading, sharing, liking and supporting this movement. If you haven’t already, please “like” my Facebook page and add me on twitter; I really enjoy interacting with you and hearing about your lives as well.

OW Trisha Marie

Discussion

No comments yet.

Tell me what you think:

